Pantera’s ‘Far Beyond Driven’ to get 20th anniversary release

Posted by on January 22, 2014

Pantera-FarBeyondDrivenAfter Pantera’s breakthrough album, 1992’s Vulgar Display of Power, was released, there were a lot of expectations for the band’s next record. They delivered big time with Far Beyond Driven, easily the heaviest metal album at the time to debut at #1 of Billboard’s SoundScan era (Skid Row might beg to differ). Now the album will join the band’s first two major label albums in getting a 20th anniversary edition, coming out March 25th on Rhino.

And while the album debuted at #1, it wasn’t a case of the band selling out in any way. Instead of making a more commercial record, it was heavier than anything they’d put out. Kicking off with the one-two punch”Strength Beyond Strength” and “Becoming,” the album really doesn’t slow down until the end, with an acoustic cover of Black Sabbaths’ “Planet Caravan.” The 20th anniversary version will include a second disc, Far Beyond Bootleg, of their show at Monsters of Rock at Donnington in 1994. Here’s the press release in its entirety.

“LOS ANGELES – Pantera reached a major milestone in 1994 when the legendary metal band’s seventh studio album, Far Beyond Driven, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200, becoming the fastest-selling album of the group’s career and its second consecutive platinum release. Not only a commercial success, the album also earned positive reviews around the world for the beautiful brutality of its all-out sonic assault.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of that landmark album and Rhino is celebrating with a special two-disc version that includes a newly remastered version of the album, along with a live performance from the 1994 Monsters of Rock Festival. FAR BEYOND DRIVEN: 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION will be available on March 25 for a suggested list price of $18.98. A digital version will also be available.

Following the breakthrough success of 1992’s Vulgar Display of Power – which has since been certified double platinum – singer Philip Anselmo, guitarist Dimebag Darrell, bassist Rex Brown and drummer Vinnie Paul returned in March 1994 withFar Beyond Driven. Following its #1 debut, FAR BEYOND DRIVEN remained on the Billboard album chart for seven more months and many still regard it as the heaviest album to ever top the chart.

Its 12 tracks represented a continuation of the previous album’s relentless musical onslaught with hard-hitting tracks like the first single “I’m Broken” as well as the mosh-pit classics “5 Minutes Alone” and “Slaughtered.” Another standout track was the group’s swirling acoustic cover of Black Sabbath’s “Planet Caravan,” which became a live favorite when Pantera hit the road to support the album later that year.

Fans already familiar with FAR BEYOND DRIVEN are in for a treat with the second disc of the 20th Anniversary Edition. Dubbed FAR BEYOND BOOTLEG – LIVE FROM DONINGTON ’94, the disc contains Pantera full live set recorded at the Monsters of Rock Festival in Donington, England on June 4, 1994. The 40-minute show comprises nine tracks taken from the band’s three most recent albums including: “Use My Third Arm” and “Strength Beyond Strength” from Far Beyond Driven, “Walk,” “Mouth For War,” and “This Love” off of Vulgar Display of Power, plus the title track fromCowboys from Hell as well as the live staple melding “Domination” and “Hollow.”


Track Listing

Disc One – Original Album Remastered
1. “Strength Beyond Strength”
2. “Becoming”
3. “5 Minutes Alone”
4. “I’m Broken”
5. “Good Friends And A Bottle Of Pills”
6. “Hard Lines, Sunken Cheeks”
7. “Slaughtered”
8. “25 Years”
9. “Shedding Skin”
10. “Use My Third Arm”
11. “Throes Of Rejection”
12. “Planet Caravan”

Disc Two – Far Beyond Bootleg – Live From Donington ‘94
1. “Use My Third Arm”
2. “Walk”
3. “Strength Beyond Strength”
4. “Domination/Hollow”
5. “Slaughtered”
6. “Fucking Hostile”
7. “This Love”
8. “Mouth For War”
9. “Cowboys From Hell”

Tags: , , , ,

Categorised in: Reissues

  • Pingback: Upcoming Reissues You Do and Do Not Want: Pantera's Far Beyond Driven and Def Leppard's Slang | MetalSucks()

  • pheet007

    Skid Row? Are you kidding? The term “heavy” is redefined every so often, an album that sets the bar in terms of intensity, brutality and expression, and I would never consider Skid Row even close. “Are You Experienced” by the Jimi Hendrix Experience is a good starting off point. “Paranoid” from Black Sabbath would probably follow, having truly defined doom and put in the first elements of thrash, believe it or not thanks to the title track. Blue Oyster Cult answered with “Tyranny and Mutation”, their second album that was so heavy many fans just couldn’t grasp it. It’d be a bit later, but in my opinion, as far as stretching the boundaries again with emphasis on heavy, Van Halen’s “Women and Children First” was a huge influence. Gone for the most part were the cutesy pop tunes and instead we got near industrial fury. Too bad the original production was flat.
    Then, “Ride The Lightning” came along. Most probably pick “Master of Puppets” as Metallica’s greatest, but nothing could prepare us for “Fight Fire With Fire”. Voivod created the industrial thrash masterpiece “Dimension: Hatross”. Thrash exploded, death was born, with several bands at once raising the bar, like Death’s first album “Scream Bloody Gore”, Obituary’s “Slowly We Rot” and Morbid Angel’s “Alters of Madness”.
    When “Far Beyond Driven” came along, what pushed it to the top of the pole was its production along with the songs themselves. This was violence caught on tape, an assault with a deadly weapon that determined if you were truly metal or not. Sure there’s lots of metalcore and deathcore that are louder, but you must have chops or you are doing nothing but making noise and calling yourself a band. Big difference.
    If “Far Beyond Driven” is ever nudged off the top of the heap, it’ll still stay close to the top.

  • Pingback: Grand Theft Auto: Vice City cheats()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Love Letters For Her()

  • Pingback: Trackback()