Quantcast

Within Temptation play Instagram live show, announce live stream series

Posted by on March 26, 2020

 

On Tuesday (March 24), Within Temptation took to Instagram to play an acoustic live show. The set was part of Global Citizen’s #TogetherAtHome series, which raises money for the World Health Organization and their efforts to help combat the COVID-19 pandemic.

Video of the band’s set can be seen below.

“We’re 100% onboard to practice social distancing together with you and help WHO getting the funds they need to tackle the coronavirus,” said the band in a social media post Monday announcing their set.

Like many internet challenges, the #TogetherAtHome series rolls on by artists who perform a set tagging other artists, essentially daring them to play for the good cause. Frontwoman Sharon Den Adel was tagged by Amy Lee of Evanescence, who had played a set on Sunday night. In passing it on, Den Adel tagged Tarja to play a set.

Inspired by their set, Within Temptation announced that they will be streaming some of their past shows in the coming weeks. In a social media post Wednesday, the band wrote, “Because of the great response to our live performance last night we’ve decided to start the ‘Within Temptation Rockdown’: every Thursday during the lockdown the next few weeks, we will livestream a Within Temptation show on our YouTube and Facebook page – starting off with: Graspop Metal Meeting 2019!” Thursday’s show will stream on Facebook at noon PST / 3PM EST / 8PM CET and on YouTube and hour-and-a-half later at 01:30PM PST / 4:30 EST / 9:30 CET.

Within Temptation and Evanescence were slated to embark on the Worlds Collide European tour together starting in April, however, the tour was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. “We are sorry to announce that our tour will be postponed,” wrote Den Adel in a social media post. “Nevertheless, in the meantime we will continue our preparation for the most kick-ass tour ever and more good news, new WT material will see daylight before the tour starts. We can’t wait to see you when the time comes. In the meantime, take care and be safe.” The bands plan to reschedule the tour soon. All tickets and VIP packages will be honored at the new dates.

The band released their seventh studio album, Resist, in February 2019. As mentioned in the previous quote, they are currently working on new music for release in the near future.

 

Tags:

Categorised in: News, Video